National Team Call-Up

Since 1996, AYSA has been the single largest contributor to Zimbabwe’s Men’s and Women’s National Teams. Some of the highlights include:


Men’s Senior Team
Knowledge Musona and Khama Billiat have been regular starters since 2010. Lincoln Zvasiya and Abbas Amidu joined them in 2012.

Under-20 Team
Walter Musona received his first call to the team in 2012.

Under-17 Team
Emmanuel Mandiranga and Brett Amidu received their first call to the team in 2012.


Women’s Senior Team
Merjury Nyaumwe, Rufaro Machingura, and Violet Bepete have been regular call-ups to the ‘Mighty Warriors’ since 2010/2011.

Rufaro Machingura, Elizabeth Chaparangana , Merjury Nyaumwe, Violet Bepete and Sheila Makoto were selected into the ‘Mighty Warriors’ team that won the COSAFA Women’s Championship in July. Rufaro won the ‘Golden Boot’ award as tournament top scorer.

Under-20 Women’s Team
Kudzanai Chiparausha, Tafadzwa Tsunguro, Daisy Kaitano, Emma Mlilo have been regular call-ups to the ‘Mighty Warriors’ since 2010.

Sheila Makoto, Violet Bepete, Rufaro Machingura, Elizabeth Chaparangana, Kudzanai Chiparausha and Tafadzwa Tsunguro were part of the team that won gold in the 2010 Supreme Council for Sport in Africa (SCSA) Zone VI U20 Youth Games in Swaziland in December 2010.